Cr Rowena Abbey re-elected as Yass Valley Mayor

Mayor Rowena Abbey and Deputy Mayor Nathan Furry. File pic
Mayor Rowena Abbey and Deputy Mayor Nathan Furry. File pic

Yass Valley Council has re-elected Cr Rowena Abbey as Mayor and Cr Nathan Furry as Deputy Mayor on September 23.

Cr Abbey will continue her eight-year tenure as Mayor for another 12 months following the NSW Government's decision to postpone council elections until September 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cr Kim Turner also put his hat into the ring for the seat but Cr Abbey won the ballot six votes to Cr Turner's three.

Cr Abbey thanked everyone after her re-election and said it has been an honour and privilege to serve as Yass Valley Mayor for the past two terms.

"I'm very pleased and proud to be working for this community and to be leading such a supportive, constructive and proactive group of councillors," she said.

"In the next 12 months as Mayor, I hope to see an additional commitment to the Barton Highway; progress on our Civic Precinct and Library redevelopment; upgrade of the Yass Water Treatment Plant; and the opening of the Murrumbateman Pipeline among other projects."

Cr Nathan Furry was re-elected as Deputy Mayor, after being opposed by Cr Jasmin Jones. Cr Furry won the ballot six votes to three.

Cr Furry thanked the councillors for "having the the trust" in him.

The Deputy Mayor said he looks forward to continuing his "solemn obligation to uphold the standards and expectations of the community."