Cricketers gear up for Stribley Shield

Ready for action: the Yass District Cricket Association and members are prepared for the 2016–17 Stribley Shield after team and regulation changes. Photo: Richard Glover

Ready for action: the Yass District Cricket Association and members are prepared for the 2016–17 Stribley Shield after team and regulation changes. Photo: Richard Glover

The Yass District Cricket Association (YDCA) held its delegates meeting on Tuesday, September 20 at the Soldiers Club.

The major agenda item discussed was the 2016–17 Stribley Shield competition.

Six teams will compete in the A grade competition:

  • Bookham Cricket Club
  • Bowning Cricket Club
  • Dalton Dingos Cricket Club
  • Royal Pirates Cricket Club
  • Soldiers Club Snipers Cricket Club
  • Yass Golf Club Cricket Club

The Harden and Boorowa cricket clubs withdrew from this season’s competition.

“Unfortunately they pulled out for a few reasons, mainly loss of key players and lack of competitiveness,” president of YDCA Paul Barnes said.

“They’re going back to focus on development phases and to bring players through the B grade competition,” he said.

A number of players from Harden will, however, play for Bookham to ensure the club’s second A-grade season is a successful one.

For the Dingos, it will be their first A grade competition for a few years after key players have returned and after picking up players from Goulbourn.

“With those key players coming in, I think they’d be more competitive,” Mr Barnes said.

Victoria Park is set to be the premier location and all teams will play multiple games there this season.

While the season is scheduled for Saturday, October 15, Barnes said he is concerned about the weather playing a role.

“We haven’t begin preparing the pitches yet because of the rain recently, but we’re still eager to start it on October 15,” he said.

Asked about which team is favourite, Barnes said it is “difficult to tell which team will shine because of all their changes”.

The B grade competition will feature nine teams as was the case with the 2015–16 competition. 

  • Binalong Cricket Club
  • Boorowa Cricket Club
  • Gundaroo Gunners Cricket Club
  • Harden Cricket Club
  • Murrumbateman Cricket Club

The above are in addition to all three Yass clubs from A grade.

The Golf Club will also have a third team called the Taipans, made up of mostly juniors.

All teams will play each other at least once.

The grade will then split into B and C grades before Christmas.

“The effect is to create a close competition rather than lopsided results,” YDCA president Paul Barnes said.

“We don’t want one team scoring 300 runs and then bowling out the opposition for just 20. It was exciting last year to see that structure working where we had tight final,” he said.

The premier location for the B grade is O’Connor park and Harden Cricket Ground.

The regulations remain largely the same as previous seasons.

YDCA is introducing a new regulation: non-batting bowler.

The concept allows captains to name up to 13 players of which only 11 can bat and bowl.

The regulation aims to help 15–17 year-old players in senior teams by allowing them to only bowl for safety and developmental factors.

“The problem [in Yass] is that once kids get through junior cricket, there’s a gap between 15 years old and senior cricket,” Paul Barnes said.

Mr Barnes said that gap exists from a lack of interest in cricket among 15–17 year-olds.

“So this concept introduces them to senior cricket in a gradual, controlled way,” he said.

YDCA will trial this concept in the B grade first.

​The full fixture for the 2016–17 will be finalised by Monday, September 26.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide