Touch knockout preview

The Yass Touch Football Knockout will be held for the 25th year on January 26 and 27. Players, coaches and referees from yester year are invited to help celebrate this milestone.

The knockout commenced in 1989 with 29 teams competing and a record 104 teams participated this year from Melbourne, Wodonga, Albury, Wagga, Leeton, Griffith, Cootamundra, Young, Dubbo, Orange, Newcastle, Central Coast, Sydney, Wollongong, Albion Park, Nowra, Canberra and Yass.

Big name sportsmen

Current and former rugby league stars like PJ Marsh (Parramatta, Broncos and New Zealand Warriors), David Hatch (Cronulla), Ian Russell (Illawarra Steelers), Joe Williams, Eric Ferguson (South Sydney), Nick Kouparitsas (Sydney Roosters), Mark Bell and Jamie Soward (St George) and former NSW Waratahs’ captain and fly-half Daniel Halangahu have played in the knockout over the years.

Legendary teams

The Leeton Zonks, who played in the knockout for a decade in the 90s, are known as one of the great social teams to have competed.

The Zonks were a team formed around ex-students from the Leeton High School and were led by the likes of Bruce Washington, Greg Reberger and ex-Sydney rugby league players Chris Houghton (Parramatta) and Larry Kelly (North Sydney).

Other legendary teams were the Culburra Legends, Spunky Love Machine Young, Bowral Boys, Nye Bros Mogo, Central Thoroughbreds Cootamundra, Hookies Heroes Temora, Tequila Slammers Mittagong, Albury Mojo, Redbacks Yass, Coastal Tyres Central Coast, Rip ‘Em Out’ Gosford. Wollongong Cellars, Stefan’s Kebabs Wollongong, City of Orange, Fabric Warehouse Canberra, Melbourne Thunder, Alacrity Brisbane, Te Whanau Manly, Shark Attack Cronulla, St George, Parramatta, Sydney University, UTS Lizards, XBlades, Chosen Few, Good Things, Cookie Monsters, Mr Walker, Suns of Beaches, SR 2002 and the Ol’ 55s led by former Jerrawa schoolboy Noel ‘Condor’ Donoghue.


The Yass business community has been a great supporter of the knockout through sponsorship which has allowed $12,000 prizemoney for the event.

Thanks to the Yass Valley Development Corporation and the Club for being the major sponsors of the knockout and the Australian Hotel-Motel, Royal Hotel, Boorowa Community Bank (Bendigo Bank), Yass Golf Club, Hamilton Hume Motor Inn, Hi-Way Motor Inn, Yass Motel, Cafe Dolcetto, Northside Takeaway, Yass Earth Movers, Davis Faulkner & Co Solicitors, Dairy Farmers, Yass Valley Hire, Firth Furnishings and Darrane Pty Ltd for being Associate sponsors.

Team nominations close on Friday, January 11 and registrations forms are available on the Yass Touch website You can register online.

The ANU Bob's competing earlier this year.

The ANU Bob's competing earlier this year.