Your guide to the Yass Valley election issues and candidates

Eight candidates have put their hands up for the seat of Eden-Monaro, but just one will be elected as the federal member of parliament for the next three years.

Their policies for Yass Valley cover Yass Hospital, Barton Highway, mental health, education, agriculture and more.

So, on May 18, who and what are you voting for?

The candidates are (in order of the ballot draw):

  1. Mike Kelly, Labor
  2. Fiona Kotvojs, Liberal
  3. Pat McGinlay, The Greens
  4. David Sheldon, independent
  5. Sophie Wade, The Nationals
  6. Thomas Harris, Christian Democratic Party
  7. Chandra Singh, United Australia Party
  8. James Holgate, independent

The Labor, Liberal and Nationals Party candidates are the only three to have made specific funding commitments to the region.

Incumbent member for Eden-Monaro Mike Kelly has promised:

  • $4.7 million to return a maternity ward to Yass Hospital.
  • $250m to begin the Barton Hwy duplication.
  • $2m across three Eden-Monaro TAFEs, including Yass, to create courses focused on the renewable energy and sustainable development industries.

The Nationals candidate Sophie Wade and Liberal candidate Fiona Kotvojs are committed to the same local policies under the coalition government. They've promised:

  • $1.5m for a satellite headspace service in Yass.
  • Advocacy for a National Agricultural Technology Museum in Yass. The Nationals has already secured $150,000 ahead of the election to carry out a site evaluation and implementation plan for the museum.
  • Barton Hwy duplication: while there are no new dollars committed to the project from either candidate, the coalition government has already committed $150m, with $100m in this financial year's federal budget.
  • $560,000 to have Australian Dairy Farmers contract an independent research group to address low prices.

The voting booths are open from 8am to 6pm at Yass High School, Yass Memorial Hall, Murrumbateman Recreation Grounds Hall, Binalong Public School, Bowning Community Hall, Gundaroo Public School and Wee Jasper Memorial Hall.

Early voting closes at 6pm at St Clements Church Hall, Yass on May 17.

Visit for more information.